LibGuides: Accessibility and Universal Design for Learning (UDL) at Odessa College: Resources

Organizations' Websites

CAST (Center for Applied Special Technology)
An educational research organization, this is the best general website for UDL concepts and practical suggestions.
ACCESS to Postsecondary Education through UDL (Colorado State University)
Select the Universal Design for Learning tab. Includes a short video by students and faculty describing the benefits of UDL, several tutorials for Microsoft Word, PowerPoint and eText. The Resources section has a checklist, quick tips and the history and philosophy of UDL.
UDL in Higher Education from CAST
This section provides an overview of the Universal Design for Learning (UDL) framework and how it applies to higher education learning environments and additional resources for deeper understanding. It also offers practical information about getting started, case stories that are examples of courses and programs that use UDL to improve student success and links to some colleges and universities that have UDL initiatives.

College Websites

Clark College
Under "Categories" click on "Universal Design." The listed college and university websites cover a wide range of UDL topics.
Renton Tech
Cathy Jenner, UDL Project Coordinator at Renton Tech, has created a great website, with a Discussion board, Wiki, a UDL Strategies cookbook, professional development, audio & video clips, Manuals & Publications. Spend some time on this site, it's chock full of information.
The University of Washington
Definitions, principles, guidelines and examples by Sheryl Burgstahler for UDI, Universal Design of Instruction.

University of Washington's information page on Universal Design of Instruction.
The Center for Research on Developmental Education and Urban Literacy (CRDEUL) at the University of Minnesota eBook on Curriculum Transformation and Disability.
University of Minnesota's Pedagogy and Student Services for Institutional Transformation (PASSIT) book on Implementing Universal Design in Higher Education.
Rochester Institute of Technology Class-Act side on Universal Design
Universal Design for Instruction Fact Sheet from the University of Connecticut's Center on Post Secondary Education and Disability's FacultyWare program, which provides online resources on Universal Design.
Campus Technology article on University of Connecticut FacultyWare Program
Universal Design for Learning (UDL) is a framework for designing curricula that enable all individuals to gain knowledge, skills, and enthusiasm for learning
Renton Technical College's Universal Design Project site with manuals, publications, styles and a strategy cookbook

Books & eBooks at Haselwood Library

Click on the title to go to the Library catalog, where you can place a hold on a hard copy book or open an eBook.

Inclusive Design for a Digital World by Regine Gilbert
Call Number: Main Collection - 2nd Floor 005.438 Gi376i

ISBN: 9781484250150

Publication Date: 2019-12-20
Assessment of young children : a collaborative approach by Lisa B. Fiore
Call Number: On Order. Ask at the Information Desk Haselwood Library

Publication Date: 2012

See "Chapter 7. Vive la différence : Facets of diversity ; Anti-bias curriculum ; Culturally sensitive practice ; Differentiated instruction or universal design"
Creating an Inclusive School by Richard A. Villa
Call Number: eBook

This is an eBook. See the Chapter "Access to the general curriculum for all: the universal design process" (pp 136-155) by Alice Udvari-Solner. This chapter covers UDL principles, gives clear schematics on the process and provides a lesson plan for a high school unit on the Vietnam War.
Frames of Mind by Howard Gardner
Call Number: 370.1523 Ga173f

How and why different people learn in different ways. And how do some teachers tap into the different kinds of intelligence no matter what the subject matter. A classic in the field.
Multiple Intelligences in the Classroom by Thomas Armstrong
Call Number: eBook

This is an eBook. The theory of Multiple Intelligences, including curriculum development, teaching strategies & classroom management
Spotlighting the Strengths of Every Single Student by Elsie Jones-Smith
Call Number: eBook

Publication Date: 2011

This is an eBook which covers "Emergence, growth and current uses of strengths-based educational systems
The strengths mindset: understanding the nature of strengths. Brain development, emotion, and learning" Bibliography

Key Online Books and Articles

Chita-Tegmark, Meia, "Using the Universal Design for Learning Framework to Support Culturally Diverse Learners" (2012)
The influence of culture on learning, UDL frameworks and procedures, examples tied to the CAST checkpoints. References.
Edyburn, Dave L., "Would You Recognize Universal Design for Learning If You Saw It? Ten Propositions for New Directions for the Second Decade of UDL" (2010)
Covers the historical context, policy foundations, the first 10 years and then sets out 10 "Propositions" for the next 10 years, such as "#5 UDL does not occur naturally" followed by suggestions fpr new directions for each Proposition. References
Orkwis, R., Universally Designed Instruction (2003)
Flexibility is the key. One size does not fit all. Orkwis exhorts educators to identify and break down learning barriers while retaining appropriate levels of difficulty.
Rose, D.H. & Meyer, A., Teaching Every Student in the Digital Age: Universal Design for Learning (2002)
Written by one of the giants in the UDL field, this excellent comprehensive text begins with the premise that one size doesn't fit all. This free online version provides numerous links to audio, video and text material to illustrate most concepts. Select the "Universal Learning Edition" to read each chapter in UDL format.
Rose, David and Dalton, Bridget, "Plato Revisited: Learning Through Listening in the Digital World" (2006)
"The nature of literacy is fundamentally changing. Recent advances in digital media and in the field of neuroscience have shown us that oral literacy (listening and speaking) is, once again, becoming more and more important."
Rose, David H. and Gravel, Jenna W., "Getting from Here to There: UDL, Global Positioning Systems and Lesson for Improving Education." (2009)
For a humorous but accurate analysis, see how GPS systems meet UDL principles better than most curricula.
Rose, David, et al.,"Universal Design for Learning in Postsecondary Education: Reflections on Principles and their Application." (2006)
UDL was first associated with K-12. This paper, developed by the Harvard Graduate School of Education for a class in Individual Differences, shows how it works on the college level.

Resources

W3C Web Accessibility Initiative
Guidance for writing, designing, and developing for accessibility. The tutorials provide guidance on how to create components that meet Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG), that are more accessible to people with disabilities, and that provide a better user experience for everyone.