Skip to Main Content

Literature Reviews and Annotated Bibliographies

Annotated Bibliography

  1. What is an Annotated Bibliography?

    • A bibliography is a list of sources used in your research, also known as "works cited."
    • An annotation is a summary and/or evaluation of each source.
    • An annotated bibliography is a list of sources accompanied by a summary and/or evaluation of each source.

  2. Benefits of Writing an Annotated Bibliography:

    • Helps you prepare for a major research project.
    • Identifies gaps in existing research.
    • Keeps track of your resources for your project.

  3. Formatting Guidelines:

    • Begin with the title "Annotated Bibliography" one double-spaced line below the title.
    • Arrange entries in alphabetical order.
    • Follow the standard citation format according to the specified style guide (e.g., MLA).
    • Each annotation should begin one double-spaced line beneath each entry.
    • Follow standard paragraph format with an indent for each annotation.
    • Strive for uniform length to maintain consistency.

  4. Writing Annotations:

    • Summarize: Provide a concise summary of the main argument, main points, topics covered, and the source's content.
    • Assess: Evaluate the source's usefulness and reliability compared to other sources you've consulted.
    • Reflect: Discuss how the source fits into your research, its helpfulness, and its impact on your argument.

  5. Importance of Annotated Bibliographies:

    • Encourages critical thinking about sources, their place within the field of study, and their relevance to your research.
    • Demonstrates your understanding of the sources you've used.
    • Establishes your work as a valid source and showcases your research competence.
    • Situates your study and topic within the ongoing professional conversation.
    • Helps other researchers determine the relevance and usefulness of a source for their own research.
    • Provides background information and an idea of the ongoing work in a field.

Here is a video on annotated bibliographies.

  1. Work's Main Purpose and Scope:

    • Explain the main purpose or objective of the source.
    • Describe the scope or extent of the topics covered in the source.
    • Highlight the specific research questions or goals addressed by the work.

  2. Format:

    • Discuss the format of the source (e.g., book, journal article, website, documentary).
    • Mention any unique features, such as illustrations, graphs, or multimedia elements.
    • Consider how the format enhances or detracts from the effectiveness of the source.

  3. Content:

    • Provide an overview of the source's content, including the major themes or subject matter.
    • Identify any specific case studies, examples, or empirical data discussed in the source.
    • Mention any notable insights or contributions made by the author.

  4. Theoretical Basis:

    • Identify the theoretical framework or theoretical perspectives used in the source.
    • Discuss how the author applies or develops theory in their work.
    • Evaluate the effectiveness of the theoretical basis in supporting the arguments or findings.

  1. Types of Annotations:

    • Summarizing Annotations:

      • Provide an overview of the source's arguments, evidence, and conclusion.
      • Avoid judgment or evaluation.
      • Informative annotations summarize the source and may include information about the author or work itself.
      • Indicative annotations focus on the questions or issues addressed by the work without including specific information from the argument.

    • Evaluative Annotations:

      • Evaluate the source critically, considering biases, lack of evidence, objectivity, etc.
      • Assess the usefulness of the source for a specific field of study or audience.
      • Explain how the source assisted your own research project.
      • Consider the work's contribution to the subject's literature, comparison to other works, author's qualifications, bias, and tone.

  2. Balancing Summarizing and Evaluative Annotations:

    • Most annotated bibliographies combine summarizing and evaluative annotations.
    • Summarizing annotations focus on content, while evaluative annotations assess the source's strengths, weaknesses, accuracy, and usefulness.

Annotation Types

Annotation Bib Types

In this example, the annotated bibliography entry follows the MLA citation style. The annotation provides a summary of the article's content and evaluates its relevance and credibility for research purposes. Remember to adjust the formatting and content of your annotated bibliography entries according to the specific requirements of your project or assignment.

Creative Commons License
Except where otherwise noted, content in these research guides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.