Print Resources
Currently enrolled students can check out ten books at a time for a two week period.
When items cannot be found in the LRC or any of the local libraries, students, faculty, and staff may fill out the Interlibrary Loan Request web form.
LRC users can request to use a room by filling out a reservation form at the LRC. Need to book a room in advance? Give us a call at 432-335-6640.
The Keith Learning Lab offers 20 computer stations and projector for instructional classes.
The Events Room is available for meetings and workshops with a projector that can be connected to your laptop.
Printing is available at $0.05 per page.
*We have moved to a new scheduling system called QuadC. You will need to create an account before you can schedule an appointment. Click below to view a walkthrough on using QuadC.
Access the workshop calendar here.
Watch recorded workshops on the Odessa College YouTube channel.
Have questions or ideas for workshops? Contact:
Aaron Trimble
Academic Success Workshop Coordinator
432-335-6643
atrimble@odessa.edu
Photo by Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash
Chicago style refers to a specific set of guidelines for writing, formatting, and citing sources in academic and professional documents. It is widely used in the fields of history, literature, and the humanities.
Chicago style provides rules for organizing and presenting information, including the use of footnotes or endnotes for in-text citations, a bibliography or reference list at the end of the document, and specific guidelines for formatting titles, headings, and page numbers.
In terms of citation, Chicago style offers two main documentation systems: the notes and bibliography style and the author-date style. The notes and bibliography style uses superscript numbers in the text to refer to footnotes or endnotes containing the full citation information. The author-date style, on the other hand, includes the author's name and the publication year in parentheses within the text, with a corresponding entry in the reference list.
Chicago style emphasizes thorough and accurate citation of sources, providing readers with the necessary information to locate and verify the referenced material. It also includes rules for proper grammar, punctuation, and formatting to ensure consistency and clarity in written work.
Turabian style, named after Kate L. Turabian, is a variation of the Chicago style that is commonly used in academic writing, particularly in disciplines such as history, literature, and the social sciences. It is designed to provide a simpler and more concise version of the Chicago style, making it accessible for students and researchers.
Turabian style shares many similarities with Chicago style, including its two main documentation systems: notes and bibliography, and author-date. However, Turabian style tends to be more flexible and less strict in its requirements.
Like Chicago style, Turabian style emphasizes accurate and complete citation of sources, allowing readers to locate and verify the referenced material. It also provides guidelines for proper grammar, punctuation, and formatting to ensure clarity and consistency in scholarly writing.
Here are the key general rules for Chicago/Turabian style:
Paper Formatting: Use standard-sized paper (8.5" x 11") with 1-inch margins on all sides. Double-space the entire document, including the main text, footnotes, and bibliography.
Title Page: Include a title page with the title of the paper centered on the page. Below the title, include your name, the course or class information, your instructor's name, and the date.
Headings and Subheadings: Chicago/Turabian style allows for up to five levels of headings, which should be used to organize and structure the content of your paper. Each level should be formatted consistently using a combination of capitalization, italics, or bold formatting.
Footnotes and Endnotes: Use either footnotes or endnotes to provide additional information, citations, or explanations within the text. Number the notes consecutively throughout the paper, using superscript numbers in the main text to indicate the corresponding note.
In-text Citations: Depending on the chosen documentation system (notes-bibliography or author-date), use parenthetical citations within the text or superscript numbers to refer to the full citation in the notes.
Bibliography or Reference List: Include a bibliography or reference list at the end of your paper, listing all the sources you cited or consulted. Entries should be organized alphabetically by the authors' last names. Provide full publication details for each source according to the prescribed format for each source type (book, article, website, etc.).
Citation Styles: Follow the specific formatting rules for each type of source (book, article, website, etc.) within your footnotes, endnotes, and bibliography. Pay attention to guidelines regarding capitalization, italicization, punctuation, and the order of elements within each citation.
Short Form Citations: In Chicago style, after the initial full citation, subsequent citations for the same source can use a shorter form. Look at examples here.
Quotations: When including direct quotations, enclose them in double quotation marks and provide a citation. Longer quotations (block quotes) should be indented and single-spaced, without quotation marks.
Page Numbers: Include page numbers in the header or footer of your document, usually in the upper right corner. Number your pages consecutively, starting with the first page of the main text.
Remember to consult the latest edition of the Chicago Manual of Style or the Turabian style guide for comprehensive and detailed instructions specific to your academic discipline or publisher's requirements.
Chicago style and Turabian style are closely related, with Turabian style being a simplified version of Chicago style. However, there are a few key differences between the two:
Audience and Purpose: Chicago style is primarily used by professional researchers and scholars, while Turabian style is commonly employed by students and less experienced writers. Turabian style focuses on providing a more user-friendly and accessible format for academic writing.
Level of Detail: Chicago style is more comprehensive and detailed, providing extensive guidelines for formatting, citation, and presentation of research. Turabian style, on the other hand, simplifies and condenses these guidelines, making it easier for students to follow.
Documentation Systems: Both Chicago and Turabian styles offer two documentation systems: notes and bibliography, and author-date. However, Turabian style places greater emphasis on the use of footnotes or endnotes for in-text citations, while Chicago style allows for the use of either footnotes or parenthetical author-date citations.
Formatting and Structure: Turabian style provides specific instructions for the structure of research papers, including title page formatting, margins, pagination, headings, and tables. Chicago style, being more comprehensive, covers a broader range of formatting rules for various types of documents, such as books, articles, theses, and dissertations.
Flexibility: Turabian style is generally more flexible and forgiving in its guidelines compared to Chicago style. This flexibility allows for more variation in formatting choices and citation practices, which can be beneficial for students and beginners.
In Turabian style, a title page is not necessary. If you have not been told to include one, you just need to center your title at the top of the first page.
These are the key guidelines for creating a title page in Turabian/Chicago style:
Place the title of your paper in the middle of the page, about one-third of the way down. Use title case capitalization (capitalize the first letter of each major word).
Skip a few lines and then center your name below the title. Write your full name (first name, middle initial, and last name).
Skip a few more lines and include additional information centered on separate lines:
The title page should not have a page number. The following page, starting with the main text, will be considered page
The notes and bibliography system is preferred by many working in the humanities—including literature, history, and the arts. In this system, sources are cited in numbered footnotes or endnotes. Each note corresponds to a raised (superscript) number in the text. Sources are also usually listed in a separate bibliography. The notes and bibliography system can accommodate a wide variety of sources, including unusual ones that don’t fit neatly into the author-date system.
The author-date system is more common in the sciences and social sciences. In this system, sources are briefly cited in the text, usually in parentheses, by author’s last name and year of publication. Each in-text citation matches up with an entry in a reference list, where full bibliographic information is provided.
The notes-bibliography system is one of the two main citation systems used in Chicago style. It is commonly used in the humanities and provides full citations in footnotes or endnotes, along with a corresponding bibliography at the end of the document. Here's an overview of how the notes-bibliography system works in Chicago style:
In-text Citations: When referencing a source within the text, a superscript number is placed at the end of the relevant sentence or passage. The number corresponds to a footnote or endnote, where the full citation or additional information is provided.
Footnotes and Endnotes: Use either footnotes or endnotes to provide full citations or additional information. Footnotes are placed at the bottom of the same page as the superscript number, while endnotes are listed sequentially at the end of the document, typically on a separate page titled "Notes" or "Endnotes."
Formatting Footnotes/Endnotes: Each footnote or endnote begins with the superscript number, followed by the full citation formatted according to Chicago style guidelines. The first line of each footnote or endnote is indented, and subsequent lines are flush left.
Bibliography: Include a bibliography at the end of your document, listing all the sources you cited or consulted. The bibliography provides complete publication details for each source and is organized alphabetically by the authors' last names.
Citations for Different Source Types: The format of citations may vary depending on the type of source (book, article, website, etc.). Chicago style provides specific guidelines for each source type, including the required elements and their order.
Consistent Formatting: Ensure consistency in formatting throughout your footnotes/endnotes and bibliography. Pay attention to guidelines regarding capitalization, italicization, punctuation, and the order of elements within each citation.
It's important to consult the latest edition of the Chicago Manual of Style for comprehensive guidelines and examples specific to the notes-bibliography system. Adhering to the prescribed formatting and citation rules will help maintain consistency and accuracy in your citations and enhance the credibility of your research.
In Chicago style, footnotes and endnotes are used to provide additional information, citations, or explanations within a document. They serve as a way to expand upon or clarify points made in the main text.
Here are the rules for formatting footnotes and endnotes in Chicago style:
Placement: Footnotes are placed at the bottom of the page on which the corresponding superscript number appears, while endnotes are listed sequentially on a separate page(s) at the end of the document, typically titled "Notes" or "Endnotes."
Superscript Numbers: Use superscript numbers in the main text to indicate the presence of a footnote or endnote. Place the superscript number at the end of the relevant sentence or passage, after any punctuation marks except for dashes and parentheses.
Formatting: In both footnotes and endnotes, the superscript number is followed by a period and is placed at the beginning of the note. The first line of each note is indented, and subsequent lines are flush left. Notes should be single-spaced within, but there should be a blank line between each note.
Note Content: Footnotes and endnotes can include various types of information, such as:
Consistency: Maintain consistency in the format and style of footnotes or endnotes throughout the document. Use the same numbering system (either footnotes or endnotes) consistently.
Superscript Number Sequence: Number footnotes or endnotes consecutively throughout the document. Start with the number 1 and continue in ascending order.
Remember to consult the specific guidelines of the latest edition of the Chicago Manual of Style for comprehensive instructions and variations on formatting footnotes and endnotes, including specific rules for handling different types of sources and the use of abbreviations.
In Chicago style, a bibliography is a list of all the sources cited or consulted in your document. It is used in the notes and bibliography citation style. provides complete publication details for each source and is arranged alphabetically by the authors' last names. Here's a description of how bibliographies are formatted in Chicago style:
Title: Place the word "Bibliography" at the top of the page, centered. Use headline-style capitalization (capitalize the first letter of each major word).
Organization: List the sources in alphabetical order according to the authors' last names. If a source does not have an author, use the title to determine its alphabetical placement. If the title begins with an article (e.g., "The," "A," "An"), consider the following word for alphabetical order.
Formatting: Each entry in the bibliography starts with a hanging indent, where the first line is flush left, and subsequent lines are indented. Use a consistent indentation throughout the bibliography.
Elements: The specific elements included in each citation depend on the type of source being cited (e.g., book, article, website). Generally, the elements include the author's name, title of the work, publication information (such as publisher and year), and page numbers (if applicable). The format and punctuation of each element follow specific guidelines provided by Chicago style.
Consistency: Maintain consistency in the format and style of your bibliography entries. Pay attention to guidelines regarding capitalization, italicization, punctuation, and the order of elements within each citation.
Multiple Works by the Same Author: When multiple works by the same author are listed, arrange them in chronological order, with the earliest work appearing first.
It's important to consult the latest edition of the Chicago Manual of Style for comprehensive guidelines and examples specific to formatting bibliographies. Following the prescribed formatting and citation rules will help ensure accuracy and consistency in your citations and enhance the credibility of your research.
The author-date style of citations in Chicago style is a parenthetical citation system that emphasizes the author's name and the publication date within the text. It is commonly used in the natural and social sciences. Here's a description of how to format author-date citations in Chicago style:
In-text Citations: When referencing a source within the text, include the author's last name and the publication year in parentheses. Place the citation at the end of the relevant sentence or passage, before any punctuation marks except for dashes and parentheses.
Page Numbers: If you are directly quoting from a source or referring to a specific page or section, include the page number(s) after the publication year, separated by a comma.
Formatting: The author's last name and the publication year are separated by a space and enclosed in parentheses. If there are two authors, use an ampersand (&) between their last names. If there are three or more authors, use the first author's last name followed by "et al." (meaning "and others").
The author-date system utilizes parenthetical citations. Parenthetical citations are placed within the text and correspond to full citations in footnotes or endnotes. The format typically includes the author's last name, publication year, and page number (if applicable). The citation is enclosed in parentheses and placed at the end of the relevant sentence or passage. The full citation is then included in the reference list or bibliography.
General Format:
(Author's Last Name Year, Page)
Click Here for Sample Citations.
In Chicago style's author-date system, a reference list is used to provide complete publication details for each source cited in your document. Here are the rules for formatting reference pages in Chicago style's author-date style:
Title: Place the word "References" at the top of the page, centered. Use headline-style capitalization (capitalize the first letter of each major word).
Organization: List the sources in alphabetical order according to the authors' last names. If a source does not have an author, use the title to determine its alphabetical placement. If the title begins with an article (e.g., "The," "A," "An"), consider the following word for alphabetical order.
Formatting: Each entry in the reference list starts with a hanging indent, where the first line is flush left, and subsequent lines are indented. Use a consistent indentation throughout the reference list.
Elements: The specific elements included in each citation depend on the type of source being cited (e.g., book, article, website). Generally, the elements include the author's name, publication year, title of the work, publication information (such as publisher and place of publication), and page numbers (if applicable). The format and punctuation of each element follow specific guidelines provided by Chicago style.
Consistency: Maintain consistency in the format and style of your reference list entries. Pay attention to guidelines regarding capitalization, italicization, punctuation, and the order of elements within each citation.
Multiple Works by the Same Author: When multiple works by the same author are listed, arrange them in chronological order, with the earliest work appearing first.
Online Sources: For online sources, include a URL or DOI (Digital Object Identifier) if available. If a DOI is provided, use it instead of the URL.
In Chicago style, figures and tables are used to visually present data, illustrations, or other information within a document. Here are the rules for formatting figures and tables in Chicago style:
Figures:
Example: Figure 1. Bar chart showing the distribution of survey respondents' preferences. Adapted from Smith (2020, 25).
Tables:
Example: Table 1. Summary statistics of survey responses. Adapted from Johnson (2018, 42).
Ensure that figures and tables are clear, easy to read, and properly labeled. Place them as close as possible to the text where they are first mentioned. If the figure or table is too large to fit on a single page, continue it on the following page(s) and include a note like "Continued on next page" or "Continued from previous page."
In Chicago style, sections and subheadings are used to organize the content of a document into logical divisions. Here are the rules for formatting sections and subheadings in Chicago style:
Level of Subheadings: Chicago style recognizes up to five levels of subheadings, each with its own formatting. The levels are as follows:
Numbered Sections: If your document includes numbered sections, use Arabic numerals followed by a period. For example, "1." for the first section, "2." for the second section, and so on.
Placement: Place section titles and subheadings on a separate line, either above or below the text they introduce. Ensure that they are visually distinct from the surrounding text (e.g., through font formatting, spacing, or indentation).
Here are some citation sources available to use:
Chicago/Turabian Citation Quick Guide
The Purdue OWL (Online Writing Lab) has guides for general writing and citation guides for APA, MLA, and Chicago styles.
Citation Generators are tools that take the source information data and generate a citation using the style you need.
When using a citation generator be sure to:
Except where otherwise noted, content in these research guides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
